1749 Spooner House

Built circa 1749 for the widow Hannah Jackson, the Spooner House is one of the oldest structures on Plymouth’s picturesque North Street. It was home to one Plymouth family, the Spooners, for over two hundred years. The first Spooner to occupy the house was Deacon Ephraim Spooner, a successful merchant and patriot during the American Revolution. The Deacon’s descendants, including mariners, farmers, abolitionists, and reformers, lived here into the 1950s, adding to and adapting the house to suit their needs. James Spooner, a lifelong bachelor and patron of music, was the last member of the family to occupy the house. In 1954 he bequeathed his home and generations of family possessions to be a historical museum.

The two-story house, complete with its original furnishings, showcases 200 years of domestic life in Plymouth.

Guided Tours

Summer Season: The Spooner House is open from the beginning of June through August. Guided tours are offered between 1 and 5pm on Fridays and Sundays, and during special events.

Fall Season: Guided tours will be offered by appointment and during special events. Call 508-746-0012 or email info@plymouthantiquarian.org for more information.

Admission is $6/adult and $3/child; free for PAS members and Plymouth residents. Minimum fee for off-season private tour is $25.



Read a collection of ten 19th-century letters from the Spooner Collection and learn more about the family.